What are the key cultural challenges you face working in this respect? Kahina: I dont look at culture as a challenge. I look at new cultures as a complex and beautiful garden maze that reveals itself to you the more time you spend in the culture, and with the people from that culture. Clare: I love this image of a garden maze. It speaks of exciting opportunities to be discovered rather than problems to solve. Im getting the gist of your positive and optimistic thinking style and Id love to know what that looks like on the work-life balance front. A recent Harvard Business School survey found that prospering in the senior ranks is a matter of carefully combining work and home. What is your experience?[/su_row] Kahina: I believe you must bring your whole self to everything that you do. You must be fully present and that means there is a whole you a relaxed, happy and satisfied person who brings positive energy to solve the challenges of the day. I seek to be that person all day long at home, at work, at play. Some days are easier then others, but I do try to know when I need to spend more time in each area of my life.
For the original version including any supplementary images or video, visit http://www.moveaheadglobal.com/conversations-with-global-women-leaders-kahina-van-dyke-on-culture-as-a-garden-maze/

